Little Fish; Mama

The waves were so strong

To the deep they carried me

The shark’s teeth I evaded

Just a scratch it managed

But all the same I am fine. 

            *****

The man’s clever trap it missed

It missed my lovely gills

Though the bait looked juicy and tasty

I kept my promise to you mama

‘Don’t eat what is not your own’. 

               *****

Danger! Danger! Rocks came falling

Others dangling from the roof cave

The darkness blocked my way 

Through the blow hole, I almost passed

My powerful fins brought me back

To the beautiful sunny shelf. 

              *****

The bully fish so unlucky

For food it became to the shark

Now I will be free to swim up and down

But a little sad for the bully fish

I wish he could change and not boast. 

                *****

I feel I am now grown mama

I can take care of my own self mama

Please don’t be angry at me

I will always be safe as you be

Sorry I didn’t tell you earlier! 

Leave a Reply

